top of page


There are two types of the IELTS test : IELTS Academic and IELTS General Training.



The IELTS Academic test is for people applying for higher education or professional registration in an English speaking environment.


It reflects some of the features of academic language and assesses whether you are ready to begin studying or training.

The IELTS General Training test is for those who are going to English speaking countries for secondary education, work experience or training programs. It is also a requirement for migration to Australia, Canada, New Zealand and the UK. The test focuses on basic survival skills in broad social and workplace contexts.

IELTS includes four tests :

  • Speaking (11-14 minutes)

  • Writing (60 minutes)

  • Reading (60 minutes)

  • Listening (30 minutes)

You will receive a score from 1-9 for each test and an overall score.

Individual organisations have different requirements. Make sure you check which IELTS test the organisation you are applying to requires of you.

bottom of page